Facebook    Twitter    Instagram     shopping cart

Evening of Honor 

The Evening of Honor is a wonderful event to honor individuals and staff that make a difference in the lives of our students. In the past we have recognized school principals, guidance counselors, school directors, police officers and extraordinary volunteers. We owe our gratitude to all of the Evening of Honor award recipients.




2017 Recipients


Police Detective Edward de la Fuente, Millburn Police’s Juvenile Detective, is well known to all the students and parents in the district through his interactive assemblies and talks. He has designed innovative programs to combat today’s teen and tween issues of Internet bullying and the frightening perils of social media.

Michael Palardy Jr. is the Millburn Schools Director of Safety and a 25-year veteran of the Millburn Police Department. He has brought a renewed energy to our schools in updating our security equipment and best safety practices.

Ana DeMeo has volunteered to run so many of our schools’ events that we stopped counting years ago: Strawberry Festival, Lunch Committee, Teacher Appreciation Luncheons, TGIF, College Night, New Parent Connection and Senior Celebration 2017. She is a past High School PTO president, Ed Foundation Grant Liaison and current Board Member of the Charles T. King Student Loan Fund.

Peter Mercurio heads the Washington School as Principal and welcomed our 5th Graders when the doors opened this September. A veteran of Millburn Middle School and Wyoming School, he works tirelessly to bring learning, creativity and fun to the newest of our eight schools. 


2017 Honorees






2016 Recipients


Kim Moore and Sharon Cohen have infused the Millburn Public School curriculum with a dose of critical character education over the last decade. They've taken Caring Kids to new levels with programming at every grade in the elementary schools. Their mission is to help children grow into compassionate, positive, and empowered members of society through character education, social activities, and parent support.


Dr. Ted D’Alessio, retired Millburn High School Athletic Director, is honored for his 40-year commitment to the physical education of Millburn students. During the span of his career, Dr. D’Alessio taught health and physical education at elementary through high school levels, coached football and track, and has been an active member of the NIAAA (National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association). Dr. D'Alessio was chosen in 2012 as the Athletic Director of the Year and the following year, under his leadership Millburn earned the recognition for having the #1 High School Athletic Program in NJ.


2017 Honorees






2015 Recipients


Amy Talbert former Deerfield PTO president and past president of the Education Foundation, received the award for her leadership in turning a relatively small organization into the successful foundation that township schools depend on today.


Nancy Siegel head guidance counselor at Millburn High School, was recognized for her many years of service in the school district guiding students through their years in the school and on toward college.


2017 Honorees  Nancy Siegel







2014 Recipients


Dr. William Miron  current principal of Millburn High School and himself a graduate of the MHS class of 1974, was honored for his dedication to the school and maintaing its high standards. He began his career at Millburn as a math teacher after teaching for several years at Seton Hall Prep. In addition, he coached track, wrestling, and football.

Debbie Reider former PTO President and past president of the Education Foundation received the award for her leadership and tireless dedication in growing the Education Foundation.


2017 Honorees  Nancy Siegel